Exploring New York: Yankee Stadium

It’s amazing that I’ve lived in New York for over two years, and I still haven’t visited some of the most famous tourist attractions. I’m slowly making my way through them, usually when out-of-town relatives and friends come to visit. This weekend a friend invited me to the Yankees game, because her company had a private suite. I had never been to Yankee Stadium before, so off I went! I’m not a huge sports fan (and I’m from Boston so a little out of my comfort zone here), but it was a fun day. The weather was perfect and we had amazing seats – and the complimentary food and drinks didn’t hurt.

Yankee Stadium Yankee Stadium Yankee Stadium

Even though I’m not a big sports fan myself, I love the buzzing energy that you can feel around major stadiums. As soon as you exit the subway at Yankee Stadium, you can hear music playing and fans cheering.

Yankee Stadium

Yankee Stadium

Yankee Stadiumsweater: H&M (similar) // layered over: PACT tee // shorts: Forever 21 (also love these)

tote: Yosi Samra // sneakers: Keds (c/o)

Yankee Stadium

My biggest dilemma of the day was what to wear. What does one wear to a sports game? I decided layering would be best because depending on whether or not it’s sunny, you could be freezing or hot. Also I wore my sporty-inspired silky “gym” shorts, and favorite Keds sneakers – did I succeed in looking like I belong? Probably not!

If you’re planning a trip to Yankee Stadium

  • You can get there via the subway (take the 4 train to 161 St – Yankee Stadium). Coming from the Metro North train, you can transfer to the 4 at 125 St or Grand Central. If you don’t live near public transit, I’ve heard that parking is plentiful so you can drive there.
  • You are allowed to bring in sealed water bottles under 1 liter, which I would recommend. Your money inside is better spent on beer – and you’ll need that water to stay hydrated in between!
  • Sitting in the luxury seats, the food was great (see more on my Instagram). Although not too healthy – I’m definitely nursing a mac ‘n cheese/tater tot hangover today. Usually the food at sports games isn’t overly nutritious, so indulge before or after the game at a nearby spot. It will make your Bronx excursion more of an adventure! I was recommended to visit Feeding Tree for some Jamaican jerk chicken, Molino Rojo for Dominican food and Giovanni’s for home-cooked Italian. And you can even get it to go because surprise, surprise: Yankee Stadium actually allows you to bring your own food inside. As long as it’s for individual consumption, in a plastic grocery-style bag and doesn’t contain anything that could be “projectile” like an apple or orange (they know their fans can get a little uncivilized).

Now I want to go back and try all this yummy sounding food! Has anyone been to any of these?

2 thoughts on “Exploring New York: Yankee Stadium

Leave a Reply

