Exploring New York: Long Island City, I ♥ You

Long Island City Waterfront NYC

top: Forever 21 // shorts: Zara (similar here)

Long Island City Waterfront NYC Long Island City Waterfront NYC Long Island City Waterfront NYCNYC Skyline Long Island City WaterfrontThe Long Island City waterfront is an undiscovered gem in New York City. As much as I love heading to Brooklyn, it’s nice to have a place like this right here in Queens. And after spending last week traveling to Colombia, I was too tired to venture out of borough this past weekend!

The LIC waterfront is a short subway ride from Manhattan on the 7 train (get off at Vernon Jackson, 1 stop from Grand Central) and you can even take the ferry there from Williamsburg or Brooklyn Heights.

There’s a small park for lounging/picnicking in the sun, but your best bet is to befriend someone who lives in one of the luxury high-rise buildings overlooking the East River. They have rooftop pools up there 😉

After taking a walk by the water, I always grab food at Skinny’s Cantina. If you follow me on Instagram you will probably notice that I’m constantly Instagramming my tacos and micheladas. What can I say, I love my Mexican food! But go to Skinny’s Cantina for brunch… on the weekends they offer a great deal of 2 drinks (hello mimosas! …or coffee, if that’s your style) plus a brunch entree for $15. Bonus: there’s no Manhattan or Williamsburg-style 2 hour wait for a table. Saturday afternoon complete.

Skinny's Cantina Long Island City, Queens

Leave a Reply

