Take Long Weekend in San Francisco for Under $500

In my spare time I love to research the trips I would take if I had all the time and money in the world. Of course I don’t, so I also try to research short vacations I can take that fit my work schedule and won’t bankrupt me. Lately I’ve had friends and family come to me for advice and help with booking affordable trips, so I decided to share some of my finds with my readers, too. This weekly series will focus on a trip you can take for approximately $500 or less, including flights + accommodations.

First up: San Francisco, a city I’ve always wanted to visit. I’ve planned a long weekend from NYC, April 19, 2013 to April 22, 2013.

San Francisco Travel

Image via Stay.com

San Francisco, Travel, Golden Gate Bridge

Image via Lonely Planet

Get There:

Delta Flight DL1765, departs at 10am from JFK in New York on Friday and arrives at SFO at 1:34pm. On the return trip, depart SFO at 6:00am Monday morning on DL 30 and you’re back in the city by 2:30pm. For those who have to work on Friday, there’s also a 5:00pm departure from JFK on DL 31 for the same price. Flight: $328

Stay:

AirBnB is always an amazing resource for budget travel. Many people get freaked out by the thought of staying in someone else’s home, but I love having hosts that know the city and can provide tips and insider information when I travel. While there weren’t any entire private homes available at this price in San Francisco, I found a backyard cottage, titled “Cozy Cottage in Backyard Garden,” for $60 per night in the Mission Terrace neighborhood. Past guests gave it on average 5 stars and said it was “comfy and private” with “lots of fun stuff within walking distance.” Accomodations: $60 per night x 3 = $180

Affordable hotel, San Francisco, Airbnb, Mission TerraceAffordable hotel, San Francisco, Airbnb, Mission Terrace

Total Cost (Flight + Accomodations): $508 for one, $418 for two.

Where do you want to go? Where are you traveling from? Let me know in the comments and I’ll try to find your vacation for $500!

Leave a Reply

