Style Inspiration: Dries Van Noten Fall 2013

I first became acquainted with Dries Van Noten a few years ago when I was a totally clueless fashion industry newbie. I was doing my very first internship in visual merchandising at the prestigious store Louis Boston, an overall terrifying but educational experience, and this was one of the menswear lines they carried. Louis Boston is known for its high-end, up-and-coming brands that you won’t find anywhere else in the city, so as a native Bostonian I hadn’t heard of half the designers in stock. But after a full semester spent dressing mannequins in my boss’s favorite Dries pieces, I became very familiar with the line and have followed it ever since.

This season I went over to Style.com to check out the Fall 2013 collection and I have to say I LOVE. I feel like with casual being so “in” right now, fashion has been headed in a grungy, slouchy direction that I don’t love. But Dries Van Noten took this idea and made it feminine, sexy and incredibly chic with a combination of feathers, menswear shirts, brocades, diamonds, oversized coats and chunky knits. Trust me, it works and I’ll certainly be channeling this vibe (or attempting to, at least) for Fall ’13.

Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week

Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week

Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week Dries Van Noten Fall 2013, Paris Fashion Week

If you love The Blonde Banana, please take a second to follow me on Twitter and Instagram and like my page on Facebook! And of course, don’t forget to subscribe on the right so you don’t miss my next post.

xox

2 thoughts on “Style Inspiration: Dries Van Noten Fall 2013

Leave a Reply

